My Birthing Story

044

I was 40 weeks and one day pregnant when my contractions started at around 6am. I knew that these contractions were different than the previous contractions I was getting because they lasted longer than 4 seconds, and I was having bloody show. I remember going to the bathroom and seeing the bloody show and crying because I was so excited that finally my baby was coming! Starting labor was perfect timing for us because I already had an appointment that day with my OBGYN at 10 that morning. The Hubs started to get all excited as we went to the appointment. I didn’t even want to go to the appointment because I knew that I was in the early stages of labor. Before the appointment we packed our hospital bags but left them at home. We went into the office which was just around the corner from us and the doctor checked my cervix. I was one cm dilated, completely thinned out and the baby was very low in my pelvis. She said that labor could start that day or still a week from now. I was discouraged leaving the office because I was so sure that he was coming that day. The Hubs, having awesome intuition, called out of work that night because he had a funny feeling that I was going into active labor that day. We went home and went to sleep, I wanted to get in as much sleep as possible and the Hubs needed to sleep for work that night, I woke up around 6pm with intense contractions. I started cleaning the apartment because I didn’t want the baby coming home to a dirty house, and the last thing I would want to do on the first day home with the baby is the dishes.

148<<< Two weeks before giving birth
Around 10pm the contractions kept getting increasingly more intense, but I just didn’t want to go to the hospital and for them to send me home. Then the contractions got so bad that I told the Hubs to get ready and that I was going to call the doctor. I told the doctor what I was feeling and she said that I could come on down to the hospital whenever I wanted to. We gathered our bags and drove to the hospital; we had to go through the emergency entrance because it was after hours. They got a wheelchair out for me and pushed me up to the maternity floor. All of the medical staff were very professional and were always offering to help in any way that they could. They also gave us plenty of space for us to work together to get through the pain of the contractions.

DSC02066 - Copy
Upon being assigned to a birthing room they checked my cervix and I was already 6cm dilated when we arrived around 11pm. I thought I was in the home run stretch and that it wasn’t going to be much longer until the baby was here, but my body had other plans. The room had a jet tub that I spent most of my time in, the Hubs was right by my side the whole entire time, supporting me, when I needed to squeeze his two fingers to get through a contraction, needed help walking around, and making runs to the kitchen where they had water, juice, Popsicle, etc. While going through the pain he was updating everyone through texting and I was updating my mom and two friends, until around 3am when the contractions started to get really intense that I shut off my phone and asked the Hubs to do the same because I was in a lot of pain and needed his full attention, at that time also I was between 8 and 9 cm dilated.

DSC02059 - Copy
Again I thought that it wasn’t going to be long until the baby was here. It wasn’t until 8:00am that I asked for some pain relief. I absolutely did not want to go this route but I was so scared that I wouldn’t have enough energy to push the baby out and result in a c section. This fear came from co-workers and friends who told me their horror stories of having to have a c section or nurses threatening for them to have a c section. They gave me a shot of a narcotic and all it did was take the edge off but it was enough for my body to make that final 10 cm dilation. After about 20 minutes of slight relief my water broke and after that the contractions were almost more than I could handle; they only lasted for about 20 minutes until I started pushing, they got so intense that I was heaving for air. I will never forget how scared the Hubs looked; it broke my heart seeing the concern on his face. The nurses told me to tell them when it felt like there was a lot of pressure down there and that it felt like I had to take a crap. That pressure was intense, I thought he was going to pop out that I started squeezing my legs together. I was yelling to the nurses, “He’s coming out!” the Hubs assisted me to the bed and they put the birthing bar on and took the end of the bed off. I tried squatting at first, which is what I wanted to do, but my legs were just too tired and the position just was not working for me. The nurses then suggested that I try basically doggy style, this worked better and the nurses could easily keep track of how far the baby was being pushed down the canal. Then the nurse suggested the first position she wanted me in which was semi-inclined with my legs way spread apart.
They tried assisting me with pulling my legs apart and I freaked out, I told them that I would hold my own legs. It seemed like I was pushing for a half hour but I actually pushed for 2 hours and 15 minutes. Even though he was very low in my pelvis, I was just very scared to push too hard because I was afraid of the pain but it actually didn’t hurt too much, just a lot of pressure. Finally, my beautiful baby boy emerged out and the Hubs got it all on video. He was placed right on my belly, I looked over at the Hubs who was still recording and I saw him wipe a tear away. It was the most beautiful moment of my life. Especially since I have never seen the Hubs cry before in over 4 years of being together and with how tough of a guy he is, I knew that he fell in as much love with our baby boy as I did. My son only cried for a few seconds until he was placed on top of me after that he was so calm just looking around as they dried him off. Also while I was holding him for the first time he peed and pooped on me haha. I like to think of that as our first “bonding moment.” We let the cord stop pulsating before the Hubs cut the cord. It was a lot tougher than he thought to cut it. As we were waiting the doctor stitched me up inside, I guess my tear was rare because it was inside rather than outside.

Capture 23Capture25DSC02071

Then, I was able to give him skin to skin for an hour before they took him, weighed him, measured him, etc. I was also able to breastfeed him right away, he latched on so quickly and fed for about 20 minutes. My son’s Apgar score after immediately being born was a 9 and then 5 minutes later he was a perfect 10. Right before they weighed him he pooped all over the table, haha. The Hubs was right there with the nurse through it all already being a protective daddy. He even told a nurse off because how she was handling him. After we got everything packed up in the room, I was placed in a wheelchair with the baby and the Hubs got all the bags, as the nurse pushed me over to the postpartum room, there was a lullaby that played on the loudspeakers as all the nurses congratulated us as we were moved to our next room; where we didn’t leave until around noon on Saturday. Birth was the most extreme pain I had ever gone through but I sincerely have already forgotten the pain and I am ready for our next beautiful baby.

176 DSC02085 179 161 156

2 thoughts on “My Birthing Story

LeAvE YoUr ThOuGhTs WiTh Me...

