Killer Leg Workout

Here is what I have been doing lately to lose weight and build muscle. I am working on my discipline, Reese’s are my enemy. What is important is that I try again the next day and to not lose sight of my goal. I am going to take you through all of my meals everyday for this whole week, hopefully you can gain some tips of the meals that I post, workout plans or insight on fitness tips that have been working for me. I will be going over everything from food, water, rest, muscle building, cheat meals and protein intake. Hope you enjoy!

Meal One:

I started today off with 4 egg whites mixed with one whole egg, cooked turkey meat and a berry medley mix smoothie.

How to make the smoothie: Fill blender 1/4 of the way up with frozen berries, 3 spoonfuls of nonfat Greek yogurt, 1 spoonful of flax seed, one water bottle and honey for sweetness (optional).

Turkey meat: Nothing added, I cooked the meat on the skillet until no red was showing.

Eggs: I buy egg whites in a carton and crack open one egg to mix in with it, I love my eggs topped with red hot 🙂

DSC03872

Meal Two:

Protein bar, obviously Quest bars are the best but they run about $2 per bar. This bar (sold at Target) is half the price and comes in pretty close to quest bars with only 40 more calories, 1g less of protein and 1g more of sugar. For half the price this really is the better deal.

DSC03874

Meal Three:

Lemon Garlic Asparagus: Set oven at 375, spread asparagus on cookie sheet covered with olive oil, garlic powder, pepper and lemon juice. Set in over for about 12-15 minutes.

Brown rice: Cook according to box.

Turkey meatballs: Set oven to 400F. Mix together in bowl, 1 pound lean ground turkey meat, 1 egg, 2/3 cup of oats and 1/4 cup of Italian dressing. Roll into balls (makes about 12) and place evenly apart on cookie tray, cook for about 15 minutes.

DSC03877

Meal Four:

Protein shake: half a scoop of whey protein, and 6-8 ounces of Almond milk. I still don’t know if almond milk is better than fat free milk. I found that cow milk has more protein in it and less sodium but almond milk has more calcium. I am still learning the difference of these two options, I will let you know what I find out 🙂

DSC03879

Meal Five:

Snacks! Raw almonds and/or celery with peanut butter or homemade salsa.

DSC03875 DSC03876

Meal Six:

I had a long day, my toddler was hungry, we had to drive an hour and a half to an interview, by the time we got back I had to pick up my husband from work. Point of the story: LIFE HAPPENS. Don’t guilt yourself if you are busy and have to get take out once in a while. If you can get the healthiest thing on the menu. Start back up tomorrow, but don’t let today’s cheat drag on into a lifestyle. Get up brush it off and start fresh tomorrow.

11157516_407514586096759_6009299838127827412_o

I am going to have a rest day today; since today was extremely stressful for me and I am still recovering from last night’s leg workout. (See posting below of what I did) Resting and food intake is CRUCIAL to how you want to form your body. I am going for a very lean and muscular look, so my workouts and diets have to reflect that. Whatever you input is our output. The way to build muscle is of course to work/tear that muscle by lifting weights that make that muscle work. Also can be achieved with cardio, sports, and mostly anything active. For me lifting weights is the easiest to really target in on the muscle group that you want to grow.

(I space all of my meals out about 2-3 hours apart)

Once you work that muscle it’s sore and needs to recover. When that muscle recovers it becomes stronger because it adds a layer on it, that’s how you get big 🙂 An important part in this process is the recovery of that muscle, this is done by eating foods that help the muscle heal; foods high in protein and low in fat,(protein shakes are great for this) and sleep! Make sure to get at least 8 hours of sleep every night, your body needs this rest, especially now. There is no sleep like after the gym sleep and it’s because your body badly needs to be put to rest to recover. You can also take supplements that help speed up recovery but I won’t dive into that because that is ground that I have yet to uncover for myself.

I have asked myself if it’s okay to go to the gym sore. Yes and no, if your arms are sore and you have yet to attack your legs do that. BUT, for example, if your triceps are still sore from working them out a couple of days ago, let them really recover until you hit it hard again. If you keep on tearing the muscle this overworks it and no progress will happen because that new layer doesn’t happen, it just keeps on tearing.

I hope you enjoyed reading! I know some of this stuff is basic material but a lot of times there is so much information out there, to filter through, that it’s good to take a step back and to really learn the basics of how to eat properly and workout properly. I have been doing a ton of research on the best ways to build muscle and lose fat and this is what I have learned so far, put together of what I previously knew. Come back tomorrow for more tips, recipes and maybe I’ll put up a progress photo of my last month of practicing what I preach 😉 Enjoy your workout!

Stairs Are the Enemy Leg Workout:
Body weight Squats (3 sets of 8 reps)

Kettle ball Pile Squats (3 heavy sets of 8 reps)

Jump Squats (With Dumbbell) (3 heavy sets of 8 reps)

Stiff-Legged Dumbbell Dead lift (3 sets of 10 reps)

Leg Press (3 sets of 15 reps)

Walking Barbell Lounge (3 sets of 30 steps)

Stationary Barbell Lunge (3 sets of 30 steps)

Lying Leg Curls (3 sets of 10 reps)

Seated Leg Curl (3 sets of 10 reps)

Leg Extensions (3 sets of 10 reps)

Standing Calf Raises (3 sets of 12, 10, 8, 12 reps)

Tell me in the comments how sore you are the day after this workout 😉 I collapsed once I got into my apartment that night, and almost asked my husband to carry me to bed haha. Happy lifting!

3 thoughts on “Killer Leg Workout

  1. Pingback: Thursday -Importance of Muscle Recovery | roadtozenith

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Meals/Sexy Back | roadtozenith

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Meals/Abs | roadtozenith

LeAvE YoUr ThOuGhTs WiTh Me...

