Muscle Recovery

I completely bailed on my once a day posts for fitness for one week and what I have been eating everyday. I did Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and then got lost in the world of mommy tasks. I’m back at it! Let’s finish this week off with some great fitness tips. Instead of posting what I ate today which wasn’t much different from Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday, I am going to narrow in on my process of finally finding a good workout plan and how important muscle recovery is.

Muscle recovery: I couldn’t find a good picture to show the cycle, so I will explain it to the best of my knowledge. First thing is to find a good workout plan, a 4-5 times a week plan is great. Don’t overkill it by never having rest time in between, all you will be doing is overworking your body. Muscles need to recover to rebuild to get bigger or leaner, if they never get this rest it will be just like taking a piece of meat and hitting a hammer to it flattening it out. When the muscle is torn it needs protein to help rebuild it. (Think of the great wall of China, if that were to take a hit you would need more stone/brick to help build it back up; body related, protein is your stone/brick). That is why a lot of people who really want results are buying supplements to help speed up this recovery process. Eating a protein bar/shake within 30 minutes after a workout will yield the best results.

Meal Plan: More than just eating a boost of protein after your workout, you need to eat a well balanced diet with a lot of protein, low sugar, low sodium, and a certain amount of carbohydrates depending on the look you are going for. It won’t work to hit it hard at the gym, eat a protein bar, sleep a little and then eat like crap. That’s not how it works, to have results you need to put each ingredient into the recipe to get a well cooked meal 😉

Sleep! Another important element of recovering your torn muscle is sleep. At least 8 hours a night, this can vary from person to person. My suggestion to see how much sleep you need is to go to bed as soon as you are fatigued and then wake up naturally, no alarm clock or anything else to interrupt your sleep, best to do this on a day off from work and the world of course. Then, obviously, count the number of hours you slept and try to get that each and every night.

Workout Plan: Choosing the workout plan that works for you. First you have to decide which body you want. I had some luck with going over to bodybuilding.com where they have body types that you choose and they give you an example(and printables!) of the workouts you need to do to achieve those results. They also take it a step further and create diet plans. This site is great, it’s a good starter if you are new to the fitness world. The problem I had with it, is that it wasn’t difficult enough for me. I wanted a more muscular look and the workouts were just not cutting it for me, but it got me started to tailor my own workouts and go from there.

I have made my own Word Documents of the workouts that I do along with pictures of the workouts, sets & reps. Let me know if you want me to email them to you!

FullSizeRender-1

*Important: the most valuable piece of advice I can give of what I have learned thus far is to try it out for at least 4-6 weeks, if you are not happy with how your body is responding then switch things up. If you continue to change things up you will not know what is working and what is not working for you.

Thank you for reading! Criticism, praise, suggestion, thoughts, questions, please leave them with me 🙂

3 thoughts on “Muscle Recovery

  1. Absolutely love this post! It’s informative and I am going straight to the body building website as I type this. Thank you for sharing 🙂
    I am also on a fitness journey >>> https://makupsy.wordpress.com/my-health-fitness-journey/
    BUT i have slowed down because my bum is disappearing before my eyes and for black women a bum is a prized possession. LOL
    Now i am down to running 3 times a week from 5-6 days a week.
    I have definitely taken some of your pointers and will be using them on my journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed reading! If you want to slim down but not lose your butt, you have to do squats! Your butt will look better than before, there are actually 3 parts of your butt that you can workout and it will give your butt a lifted and round look. I will do a post tonight on building your booty, today. Make sure to check back!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ohh thanks a million, will be sure to check it out because I am worried for days about that area of my body.

        Like

LeAvE YoUr ThOuGhTs WiTh Me...

