Super Mario Felt Christmas Tree

I have been working on this for over a month now. I am so excited to share the end result! I got the idea of a felt tree from Pinterest but came up with the theme of Super Mario ornaments and how to make them on my own. Since we don’t have much room in our apartment we couldn’t get a Christmas tree, so I turned it into something fun for my toddler to play with. Here is the end result:

IMG_3213

Here’s what you need: (1 yard of dark green felt for the tree $5.99, and then one small square each of the following colors: yellow, brown, orange, red, white, tan and green 4 for $1.00. Felt glue $5.99, permanent marker $0.99, fabric scissors $2.99 and printouts of whichever character you choose).

IMG_3212

First I drew an outline of a Christmas tree on the yard of green felt, and then my husband (whose the better artist) drew over my Christmas tree:

IMG_3044

Then cut it out and place on the wall (I mounted mine to the wall with a staple gun).

IMG_3047

Next print out the characters that you want and cut those out and then place the cutouts on the color of felt that is dominant in the character:

IMG_3190IMG_3194

Trace the characters and cut them out: (For the precise lines do your best to draw them on with a permanent marker).

IMG_3192IMG_3189

For the smaller felt parts cut out the traceable part from the character you printed out like this: (Then trace on the right color of felt and glue on to the previous felt part that was cut out)

IMG_3191

I referred to online pictures from my phone to make sure that I got the right colors and the right parts where they were supposed to go:

IMG_3195

Let the glue dry for about an hour and then let your lovable ones play!

Just be careful to monitor them, my little guy already ripped the question mark block apart…Have fun!!

 

 

LeAvE YoUr ThOuGhTs WiTh Me...

