Surrogacy: Last Uterine Lining Check

***I also vlogged about all of this, scroll down to the bottom to watch!***

I had my last uterine lining check done and everything looks great! It was very satisfying to see how happy the doctor looked with how my body is progressing with the medications. Especially because this doctor intimidates me haha, he is very nice but his bed side manner is just very strict, maybe because he just has so many things going on in his mind; but, he is one of the best if not the best in the business so as long as everything works out he can treat me however he wishes. He said that my lining is beautiful and is at a 15mm. They like for it to be at least an 8mm, I asked the nurse if it helps more for a successful transfer and she said that yes it does, to what extent I’m not sure but I think it makes sense that a thicker wall is more likely to keep the embryo inside. The doctor also told me that the thickest it can get is 20mm I still have 8 days left and I’m hoping for a 20 before the embryo transfer! I’m doing so well on the medications that he even lowered the medication that I am taking to help thicken the lining. I won’t know for sure how thick the lining will be before transfer because this was the last ultrasound.

After the quick ultrasound I met him in his office and he went over the medication protocol for that day and up to the day of transfer. After the transfer he will give me new instructions for protocol of medications. The medications from Sunday to the day of the transfer which will be Friday goes crazy. I will be on 7 different types of medications both muscular injections and oral tablets.

I am still drinking my pomegranate juice which I truly believes helps significantly. I remember last transfer I believe my lining was at a 12mm before transfer and now it sounds like it’s going to be at a 20mm. I started drinking it the day I started the Delestrogen, which is the inject able medication that helps thicken the lining, at 8 ounces a day. I have also been in communication with other surrogates and they too confirm that the POM juice helped them with their lining. Today was the last day of my estrogen patch and also for taking Lupron. I have blood work two days before the transfer and that’s about it until T-Day!

I am getting so anxious and very hopeful, the last transfer I had back in August went very smooth but this one is going even better. My body responded well last time to medications but this time my body is doing even better this time around. It is very discouraging when i hear about other surrogates who have had embryo transfers just recently and their results come back negative or that their blood is showing the pregnancy hormone but that the embryo just didn’t make it and then worse yet is when there is a strong pregnancy hormone and the levels are great but then at the ultrasound the technician cannot find a heartbeat. Hearing all of this really makes you hope that it’s not going to happen to you but it also gets your mind to accept that that might happen. I had a hard time in the weeks leading up to this one with just a lot of doubt and especially because I had a failed transfer before. I have been praying for peace and God has provided that, this week I have been feeling very hopeful and more at ease.I have a good community of surrogates and others who have been through this process, who are supporting me with their words of encouragement.

This time around I feel more educated about the process and exactly what the medications are doing to my body. I also know the realty and chances of the success of an embryo transfer. With knowing everything that is going to happen I feel much more at ease so my body is also a lot less stressed. The last transfer I was so bitter towards having to have a shot and sometimes two shots a day(twice a week) in my butt for all of this, I thought carrying the child was enough of a sacrifice but then to also add shots into the mix I really didn’t have the right attitude. When I found out that the transfer wasn’t successful I actually missed the shots because the shots represented that there was a baby. This time around I don’t mind the shots at all, I can honestly barely feel them, I think what helps is that my body is so relaxed. I’m also a lot less stressed because I know everything that happens during the transfer and what has to happen afterwards. At the last transfer I didn’t have much sense of what was to happen and I didn’t find out that I was supposed to be on further restrictions after the transfer(3 days bed rest) and then I can’t lift anything heavier than 5 pounds and I cannot walk for more than an hour at a time. I found all of that out the day of the transfer. I was annoyed with the agency for not telling me all of this and I really think they need to tell the surrogate absolutely everything that they will need to be doing; but, I also understand that the agency has only a certain amount of women on their staff and there are many surrogates that they are communicating with. Maybe make a huge packet of everything that is to happen?

All in all I feel much better and much more confident this time around, please send a prayer for me!

LeAvE YoUr ThOuGhTs WiTh Me...

