Pregnancy Test Results!

***To watch the two videos of the results scroll to the bottom!***

Sorry to everyone who has been following my blog on this surrogate journey. I should have updated way sooner but I was busy with vlogging it on my YouTube channel. Last Wednesday (3/31) I got a phone call from the IVF office to confirm that I’m pregnant! I was glad that it wasn’t a day later that they called (April Fool’s Day haha). My HCG number was 125 which was lower than what I was expecting but still a good number! Then I had a repeat test yesterday (Monday) and the number soared to 1536! Which is great! That number is supposed to at least double every 48 hours for the first 10 weeks of pregnancy. This number can tell a lot about the early stages of pregnancy.

If that number was to start off low there would be concern that it’s not a viable pregnancy and that the embryo didn’t fully implant into the uterine wall, this is called a chemical pregnancy. Low HCG numbers could also indicate an ectopic pregnancy.

For the number to rise as high as it did in just 5 days is a really good sign, so good that I don’t need to do another blood test, they scheduled my first ultrasound for the 19th of April! Which is two weeks away, it’s going to be a long two weeks. Ever since I started this journey with the parents I am with now I had appointments or blood drawn at least once a week and now two weeks of absolutely nothing is going to feel weird!

My other thought, and two other experienced surrogates brought this to my attention. Is I am wondering since that number jumped so fast in a short amount of time(doubling time was 33 hours) is if the embryo split and resulting with twins. I have to say I would be pretty upset if it was twins because of the jump in statistics of the risk to have twins. I would be rather just have one, which is why I was very glad when they only transferred one embryo. But at this point it is out of my hands, and if it is twins I am in God’s grace and I know that He will take care of me and these girl(s) that I am carrying.

 

LeAvE YoUr ThOuGhTs WiTh Me...

